​Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE) Diploma

The Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE) Diploma prepares students for honours degree programmes. It is made up of individual Cambridge International Advanced Subsidiary (AS) Level and Advanced (A) Levels, and requires the study of subjects drawn from three curriculum areas within an international curriculum framework: mathematics and sciences; languages; and arts and humanities.

To achieve the Diploma, all learners also need to study and pass a compulsory core subject: Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research. This is a cross-curricular skills-based course.

In order to receive a Cambridge AICE Diploma, a candidate must earn a minimum of seven credits (including Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research), with at least one credit coming from each of the three curriculum areas. The remaining credits can come from any of the curriculum areas, including an optional group of interdisciplinary subjects (Group 4).

A Cambridge International AS Level is awarded one credit, and a Cambridge International A Level is awarded two credits.

Learners who pass the Cambridge International A Level in Global Perspectives & Research meet the compulsory requirement of the core group and also have one credit which may then be included in Group 4 to contribute to the overall requirement of seven credits.

Grading and points system

Cambridge International AS Level subjects – candidates are graded A to E.

Cambridge International A Level subjects – candidates are graded A* to E.

The Cambridge AICE Diploma is awarded on the basis of a points system:

Two credits study (A Levels)

Grade A* (140 points)
A (120)
B (100)
C (80)
D (60)
E (40)

One credit study (AS Levels)

Grade A (60 points)
B (50)
C (40)
D (30)
E (20)

Candidates who meet the requirements will receive a Cambridge AICE Diploma at one of three levels – pass, merit or distinction – on the basis of their overall AICE diploma score:

Cambridge AICE Diploma with Distinction: awarded to students with a score of 360 points or above. The maximum Diploma score is 420 points.

Cambridge AICE Diploma with Merit: awarded to students with between 250 and 359 points.

Cambridge AICE Diploma at Pass level: awarded to students with between 140 and 249 points.

The maximum number of Cambridge AICE Diploma points is capped at 420.


Group 1: Mathematics and sciences. Subjects available include biology, chemistry, computing, design and technology, environmental management, mathematics, physics and psychology.

Group 2: Languages. Subjects available include English language, Afrikaans, Chinese, Portuguese, Spanish, French, German, Urdu.

Group 3: Arts and humanities. Subjects available include accounting, art and design, business studies, economics, geography, history, English literature, French literature, Portuguese literature, Spanish literature, music, psychology, sociology.

Group 4: Interdisciplinary subjects (optional). Subjects include a general paper and thinking skills. 

Core: Cambridge Global Perspectives. It is compulsory for all learners to study Cambridge International AS Level Global Perspectives & Research.

Website: www.cambridgeinternational.org/aice